Tags

, ,


The year was 2005.  It’s a little hard to think of myself as an adult now at 26, but I was 20 years-old at the time (still technically an adult) and I had just moved from the east coast of Florida to the west coast to finish college.

At this time I was older than most of the kids (-er adults) who were living in the dormitories.  Most of them were between the ages of 17 and 18 and had just finished high school.  I had been in school and even living on my own for the last two years.  I knew this was going to be interesting.

Believe it or not, there is quite a culture shock coming from one coast to the other.  For one, everyone on the west coast is super nice and they don’t seem to read sarcasm too well.  It took me a little while to adapt to the west coast being a little slower, a little more sensitive to sarcasm, and their highways only being two lanes.  Another characteristic that took some getting used to is that it rains every day at 3pm.

Sure, being a born and bred Floridian, I’ve always been accustomed to rain. Especially in the summer/fall switchover, but my God, this was literally EVERY DAY.  I thought I was so clever scheduling all my classes in the morning and early afternoon so I could be off by 3pm, but I didn’t anticipate being soaked by the time I got to the bus stop!

One afternoon, I was fortunate enough to have my last class canceled, so everything ended for the day before 2pm which left me dry in my dorm room nerding-out on the internet as the afternoon rainstorms rolled in.

Suddenly XXSHADOWMANXX popped up in a new window through my AIM messenger: “Hey, u home?”

XXSHADOWMANXX was actually an 18 year old boy I had met on campus when I first moved in.  For privacy reasons, I won’t reveal his real name, but let’s call him something mysterious to reflect is awful screen name choice…how about Xander?

Xander didn’t exactly fit into my typical cookie cutter type that I’m attracted to.  Traditionally, I like them tall, skinny and a little nerdy, but with a sharp tongue; if you ever meet my fiancee, you’ll know exactly how I like my men.  Xander was tall, average build, blond and looked like a little surfer boy even though he wore a different ICP shirt every day.

XXSHADOWMANXX: Wanna go play in the rain and jump in some puddles?

Jivegal1 (I never said I had the most clever name either): How old are we?

XXSHADOWMANXX: I know, but I’m bored.  I used to play in the rain all the time with my friends back @ home.  Come on, I’ll come over to ur building.

Out of sheer boredom, I decided to give in to the childish behavior.  Jumping in puddles with a boy who liked me couldn’t be as immature as the multiple meaningless conversations I was having in whatever vampire role playing chat room I was in (yea, that was a huge confession).

It wasn’t half bad, actually.  Eventually the conversations we had led to physics formulas that worked to measure how far water rises with a certain force and then later we just started saying really mean things about our past girlfriends and boyfriends and my crazy roommate who pretended to be depressed.

It was inevitable that the two of us would have a fling, and it lasted a good four to five months.

Eventually he said something rude to me, or I just got annoyed to the point where I stopped wanting to hang out with him and after I moved out of the dorms, I never really talked to Xander again.

Years down the road I found him (again) on Facebook and we all (me, him and some friends) met up at a concert.  He looked exactly the same in the face, but now had short hair and had two really awful nautical star tattoos on his chest, He was also really overly affectionate towards his girlfriend who was wearing a leather vest with beaded strings hanging from the pockets-no joke.

All in all, I’m pretty pleased with my mature decision of not pursuing anything with this guy…but we’ll always have our immature afternoon of playing in the rain.

